Ilonggos rule Smart MVP Taekwondo Championships

MVP jin Angela Joy Marie Bermejo with coach Denmark Pinggol

ILONGGO taekwondo jins continue to be unstoppable in the national arena after dominating the Smart MVP Best of the Best Taekwondo Championships 2018 at the Ayala Malls, South Park Alabang in Manila on Sept 2, 2018.

Mark V. Pinggol (MVP) Iloilo Taekwondo Gym mainstay Angela Joy Marie Bermejo of Miagao captured the gold medal in the Kyorugi event and was named Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Cyd Edryc Esmaña won a silver medal in the Individual Poomsae Grade School Division. His trio with Niesha Karin Pequierda and Elizabeth Marie Borres also got the bronze in the Mixed team Poomsae.

Other quarterfinalists are Kyle Pico, Joshua Grecia, Xyrus Andrei Desierto, Raphael Lloyd Pico, and Senddrick Valencia.

Niesha Kariz Pequierda, Antonio Miguel Nafarrete, Joshua Cachero, and Roices Dane Decafe also competed.

“There are certain life lessons that you can only learn while struggling. We’re glad to see our jins playing their hearts out in the national arena. We will mould them well for bigger competitions. The support of their parents really motivated us to aim for more medals and victories,” Pinggol said.

FELIX Ace Perez (left)

A. Diasnes Gym Taekwondo Learning Center also pulled off big surprises after bagging medals in the two-day event.

Sophia Marie Tungala, Cindy Joy Diasnes, and Angelie Marie Perillo won the bronze medal in the Team Junior Female Division. Perillo also clinched the bronze in the Individual Cadet Female Division.

Meanwhile, Felix Ace Perez of Calinog, Iloilo made an impression after winning the gold medal in the Grade School Boys’ Kyorugi. He was also awarded with the MVP honor. His teammates from Calinog Taekwondo Association (CTA), Feri Carmel Perez and Gregmay Peñalosa, also bagged bronze medals.

Leave a Reply