Ilonggo jins make waves in reg’l tilt

ST. ROBERT’S International Academy’s (SRIA) taekwondo team performed well in the 2018 Regional Inter-school Taekwondo tournament. (Mark Pinggol)

TAEKWONDO jins of the Mark V. Pinggol (MVP) Taekwondo Gym came out on top of the 2018 Regional Inter-school Taekwondo tournament after capturing 30 gold, 10 silver, and 10 bronze medals at the Binirayan gym in San Jose, Antique on July 7.

Trained by head coach Denmark Pinggol, Team MVP outplayed 500 fellow athletes in the one-day tournament.

Student-athletes from Ateneo de Iloilo (AdI) led the MVP gym with 16 gold medals – JJ Pagcalingawan, Conrad Joseph Pido, Neilin Joy Samson, Joanne Ja Samson, Elisha Aguilar, Laurence Isiah Firmeza, Andria Margaret Palabrica, Josh Karl Macahilig, CJ Pagcalingawan, Samantha Go, Sophia Grace Go (Best Player Awardee), Christian Pudadera, Enzo Lucio Cape, Esmaña Cyd Edryc, Von Joseph Escabilla, and Neljane Belgira.

The silver medalists are Sofia Jessie Uy, Julianna Martha Uy, Ameila Carla Victoria, Niesha Kariz Pequierda, and Antonio Miguel Nafarrete while the bronze medalists are Geon Ivan Dulaca and Calibjo Joseph.

AdI won the overall championship in the Cadet Division.

Young jins from St. Robert’s International Academy also wowed the crowd in the tournament. Angela Joy Marie Bermejo of Miagao, who captured the gold medal and was named Best Player of the game, led the team.

Other gold medalists are Geraldine Diana, Jhed Anthony Murata, Kyna Zurielle Gemarino, Ronald Kyle Pico, and Joshua Grecia.

Rannie Rose Dedoroy, Katrina Mamaril, Raphael Lloyd Pico, and Jannah Sonido pocketed the silver medals.

Absorbent Mind Montessori mainstay Anthony Planta won the silver while Assumption Iloilo’s Sheine Nicole De Asis and Aiken Emmanuel Avaricio got the gold and silver, respectively.

Huasiong School of Iloilo’s Chua Panfilo won the gold while Iloilo National High School’s Senddrick Valencia and Miagao Central Elementary School’s Glaiza Fae Cordero took home the silver and gold medals, separately.

Other gold medalists from other schools were Jannah Ysabel Velez (University of San Agustin), Mikaela Tadena (SPED High School of Iloilo), Red Dyron Lusaya (SRIA), Jilyn Rose Yap and (UPV High School).

Silver medals also went to Louwee Jay Kyle Sualog (SEED Park Academy of Guimaras) while the bronze medal went to Marcus Murcia (Pandak Elementary School), Justin Apura (USA), and Jose Lubis III and Andrei Miguel Pido (PAREF-Westbridge School of Iloilo).

Pinggol lauded the team’s performance.

“We’re happy to see our players winning every game and receiving their medals. Thank you for the solid support of MVP coaches and parents. Because of your undying help, our team achieved its goal and still growing,” he added.

Leave a Reply