Filipino riders rule Ronda Pilipinas Guimaras

FILIPINO cyclists ruled the second leg of the Ronda Pilipinas 2019 in Guimaras. (Ronda Pilipinas handout)

TWO Pinoy bikers stamped their class over other countries in Stage 2 of the LBC Ronda Pilipinas in Guimaras on Feb 7, 2019.

Marcelo Felipe of 7-Eleven Cliqq-Air21 and El Joshua Carino Philippine Navy-Standard Insurance were the first two finishers of the race, respectively.

Both riders had identical times of 2 hours, 4 minutes and 19 seconds but Felipe was hailed as the stage winner.

Go for Gold’s Jonel Carcueva, on the other hand, ranked third place.

All cyclists endured the scorching heat of the sun and survived the 101.8-kilometer, round-the-island race.

“Kanina ko pa tinitignan si Carino. Gusto siyang pakawalan ng team niya. Forty seconds lang ang labanan sa team. Pinilit ko siyang dikitin at nag-usap na lang na magtulungan, katulad ni Carcueva na inabot namin,” said Felipe.

Meanwhile, Francisco Mancebo Perez of Spain dominated Stage 1 in Iloilo City. He successfully protected the solo general classification lead against Ronald Oranza and Jan Paul Morales of Navy-Standard Insurance.

Perez, 42, is not new to the competition as he has been competing in the prestigious Tour de France.

In the Iloilo leg, the Spanish rider clocked 7:47:298 after two race days. Oranza followed at second in the general classification ranks (3:52 behind), while Dominic Perez is at No. 3 (4:01).

Completing the top 10 finishers were Morales (4:45), Matrix’s Junya Sano (4:53), Korail Team Korea’s Joo Daeyeong (4:58), 7Eleven’s Irish Valenzuela (5:20), Army Bicycology’s Mark Julius Bordeos (5:20), and 7Eleven’s Rustom Lim (5:28).


Leave a Reply