DLSU, UP tankers rule UAAP swimming

Manila— The University of the Philippines (UP) Lady Maroons completed a 3-peat, while De La Salle University (DLSU) regained the top spot in the UAAP Season 74 swimming competition over the weekend at the Trace Aquatics Center in Los Banos, Laguna.

UP finished with 312 points, well ahead of the Ateneo de Manila University (AdMU) womens’ team who were second with 216 points.

De La Salle’s women’s team were third with 159 points.

UP’s third straight championship was highlighted with a record-breaking performance in the women’s 400-meter medley. Aphrodite Magbanlac, Tiara Tudio, Antoinette Aquino and Christine Hipol finished the relay with a time of 4:42.55, breaking the record that the Far Eastern University (FEU) women’s team set way back in 1969 (4:49.94).

Meanwhile, the DLSU men’s team garnered 262 points to clinch the men’s crown. University of Sto. Tomas (UST) placed second, with 201 points, while AdMU placed third with 135 points.

La Salle’s Johassen Aguilar was named Most Valuable Player in the men’s division, while UST’s Xavier Ilustre was Rookie of the Year.

Aguilar broke his own record in the 50-meter back stroke, finishing with a time of 27.54 seconds.

In the women’s competition, Ateneo’s Anna Celina Gonzales was named MVP while Kimberly Uy, also of Ateneo, was named top rookie.

At the same time, the Ateneo boys team won their seventh straight crown in the juniors division. Gabe Castelo of Ateneo was named MVP, while Skyler Claveria of UST was Rookie of the Year.

University of the East triumphed in the girls’ division, with Christine Joy Mendoza of UE taking home MVP honors and Priscila Aquino of UE being named top rookie. (abs-cbnNEWS.com)

Leave a Reply