2018 ILOPRISAA Meet JBLFMU overpower USA to grab title

JOHN B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University (JBLFMU) was the last team standing in the tertiary men’s basketball of the Iloilo Private Schools Athletic Association (ILOPRISAA) Meet.

The Dolphins led by veteran cager JR Fritchard Dulce overwhelmed the University of San Agustin (USA) Golden Eagles, 92-54, during their finals encounter at the Iloilo Sports Complex (ISC) covered gym, Nov. 29.

Dulce, this year’s Most Valuable Player (MVP), scored 24 points as he masterfully ran John B’s offense. Hiljohn Cartagena tallied 20 points for the Dolphins to reclaim the title they last won in 2015.

USA stalwart Karl Malco was limited to only 13 points while Tyke Igor Bano also struggled in the shaded area with 15 baskets.

Meanwhile, Western Institute of Technology (WIT) survived a last minute scare from Central Philippine University (CPU), 86-85, in the battle for third place.

Former Palarong Pambansa star and Sta. Clarita International School (SCIS) alumnus Marvin Cuerbo fuelled WIT with 30 big points while Dionel Fatla-onag chipped in 25 baskets.

Miguel Cyrene Sasuman and Dan John Saladar led CPU with 23 and 16 points, respectively.

The Mythical Five team is composed of Cuerbo, Sasuman, Bano, Dulce, and Cartagena.

CPU avenged their loss in basketball by dominating the beach volleyball competition which concluded Nov. 29 at the ISC covered gym.

In secondary girls, CPU walloped San Agustin and Iloilo Doctor’s College (IDC), which settled for second and third placers, respectively.

In secondary boys, San Agustin topped CPU and JBLFMU.

WIT got the championship title in the tertiary women while Iloilo Doctor’s retained the crown in the tertiary men’s division.

Leave a Reply