Tribu Kabugwason is Salakayan Festival king

Text and Photos By Elyrose S. Naorbe

AFTER four years of waiting, Tribu Kabugwason of Miag-ao National High School (MNHS) regained the crown in the Salakayan Festival 2017 after besting other competing tribes in the town of Miag-ao, Iloilo February 11.

Themed “Kari Kita sa Miag-ao, Kasaysayan, Kultura, kag Pag-tuo sang Pumuluyo Ipadayun”, the month-long celebration is now on its 19th year with the town commemorating their 301st Foundation Anniversary.

Tribu Kabugwason received P60,000 and earned the ticket to represent the town in the Kasadyahan Festival 2018 in Iloilo City.

The tribe also cornered the minor awards – Best in Costume, Best in Performance, and Best in Choreography with P5,000 cash prize each.

The group trained by Rosemarie Fortaleza-Camposano, Lenelia Jamile, Roy Buenviaje, and Jayrald Gemalaya also clinched the Best in Opening Salvo Award and P10,000 cash prize.

Tribu Salagyawan of Alejandro Firmeza Memorial National High School (AFMNHS) placed second and won P45,000 cash prize.

Tribu Tabuk-Tabok of San Jose National High School (SJNHS) won third place and P30,000 cash. They also clinched the Best in Music award.

Tribu Tabun-ak of Palaca-Damilisan National High School received P10,000 cash prize after winning the Best in Merry Making contest.

The 2016 champion Tribu Kirayanon of Kirayan National High School also joined the event but as a guest performer only.

The term Salakayan, which was coined from a Hiligaynon term “salakay” or “to attack,” is a street dance-drama that merges arts, tradition and cultures of the town.

The highlight of this celebration is the Salakayan Presentation – a street dance-drama depicting the victorious battle on May 7, 1754, waged by the local defenders against the Muslim marauders who frequently attacked the shoreline of Miagao and divested the people of their belongings.

This historic attack or “salakay” gave the festivity its name.

The seven competing tribes in this year’s Salakayan Festival are Tribu Tabun-ak from Palaca-Damilisan National High School, Tribu Buklod from Bacolod National High School, Tribu Kabugwason from Miagao National High School, Tribu Bantala-an from San Rafael National High School, Tribu Tabuk-Tabok of San Jose National High School, Tribu Salagyawan of Alejandro Firmeza National High School, and first timer Tribu Baklayanon of Supt. Arsenio M. Napud Memorial National High School.


Leave a Reply