GMA News Pillars Jessica Soho, Mike Enriquez win at 1st Animo Media Choice Awards

GMA News Pillars Jessica Soho and Mike Enriquez were recently honored at the first Animo Media Choice Awards by the De La Salle University Dasmariñas Alumni Association, Inc. (DLSUDAAI).

Soho was named as the “Best Female News Anchor on TV” in an awarding ceremony held during the DLSU-D Grand Alumni Homecoming at the Ugnayang La Salle last July 21. The internationally-awarded broadcast journalist anchors GMA News TV’s flagship newscast State of the Nation with Jessica Soho. She also hosts GMA-7’s top-rating news magazine show Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (KMJS) and GMA News TV’s Brigada.

Enriquez, on the other hand, took home the “Best Male News Anchor on TV” award. He co-anchors GMA-7’s flagship newscast 24 Oras, hosts the investigative public affairs program Imbestigador, and GMA News TV’s Dobol B sa News TV where his programs on radio are simultaneously broadcasted.

On top of his award for TV, Enriquez was also conferred the “Best Male News Anchor on AM Radio” honor for his work in Super Radyo DZBB 594 khz where he is heard weekdays in Saksi sa Dobol B, Super Balita sa Umaga Nationwide, and Sino?

Nearly 2,000 De La Salle-Dasmariñas University alumni cast their votes online from June 20 to July 9 to determine the winners of the first-ever Animo Media Choice Awards.

Soho holds the distinction of being the country’s most awarded broadcast journalist with nearly 300 local awards and more than 30 international awards to date. She recently took home a bronze medal in the Best News Anchor category of the prestigious New York Festivals Television & Film Awards. She was the first and only Filipino broadcast journalist to date who made it in the list.

Enriquez, meanwhile, is the only Asian and only Filipino so far to win the Best Newscaster Award in the Asian Television Awards. He is also an Anak TV Makabata Hall of Famer, having been voted as Makabata Star in a span of seven years.

Through the 1st Animo Media Choice Awards, DLSUDAAI aims to “honor the best media programs, networks, and personality” in support of DLSDAAI vision “that the deserving winners also embody the energy, zeal and commitment excellence of Lasallians”. The award’s name is coined after the rallying chant of every Lasallian “Animo,” which means drive, passion, and purpose. The event highlights the university’s Grand Alumni Homecoming this year.

Leave a Reply