USA Law makes wave in moot court tilt

The University of San Agustin College of Law Moot Court Team advanced to the semi-final rounds, placing third among 17 participating law schools at the 2017 National Moot Court Competition on International Humanitarian Law held last October 2-6 at the University of the Philippines BGC Campus.

The USA Law Moot Court Team is comprised of Fydah Marie Sabando, Bryan Eric Cerebo, Valerie Kaye Binayas, and Alyanna Cortum, with Atty. Anfred Panes as Coach.

A group of researchers provided able support to the team, namely, Joseph Raymond Bautista, Charvenn Buncag, Val Justin Deatras, John Marti Maghopoy, Charmaine Nuevaespaña, Alisandra Palencia, Raymond Pasco, and Eugenie Marie Senupe.

Meanwhile, lawyers Aloysius  dela Cruz,  Jonnie Dabuco, Jose Edmund Guillen, Elijo Herrera-Bellones, Fitzgerald Macalalag, and USA Law Dean Jose Mari Tirol guided the Augustinian moot court team to the semi-final rounds.

Organized by the Philippine Red Cross (PRC) and the International Committee of the Red Cross, in partnership with the Court of Appeals, the 12th annual moot court competition is a venue for law students to hone their skills in argumentation, advocacy and articulation focusing on relevant issues on international humanitarian law.

This is the third  straight year of participation by the USA College of Law Moot Court Team sallying arguments with 16 other law schools, namely, Ateneo de Manila University, Ateneo de Zamboanga University, Cagayan State University, Lyceum of the Philippines, Philippine National Police Academy, Polytechnic University of the Philippines (Manila), Ramon Magsaysay Technological University (Zambales), San Beda College of Law, Saint Louis University – Baguio, Silliman University (Dumaguete), University of Batangas, University of Saint La Salle – Bacolod, University of San Jose Recoletos (Cebu), University of the East, University of the Philippines – Diliman, and Western Mindanao State University.

In a similar event, the USA Debate Team emerged as victors over the West Visayas State University contenders at the Punto por Punto Interschool Debate Competition last October 5, 2017 in Jaro, Iloilo City. The Augustinian team was composed of speakers, Edward Dominic Emilio, Floyd Susarno, and Ancel D’Cunha; researchers, Maria Ignacia Alba, Mary Rose Dagohoy, Sandy Boy Ditalo, Erika May Draper, Gabriel Jesse Dumapig, Wilkienson Muro, and Andrea Nicole Parce; and coaches Mr. Rodolfo Betito, Jr., Mr. Eric C. Divinagracia, Ms. Junine Wednesday Java, Ms. Mona Pico and Atty. Anfred Panes.

In recognition of the excellent performance of the Augustinian debaters at the local and national levels, the PRC-Iloilo Chapter awarded the two teams with a Certificate of Commendation last October 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply