28 Antique students qualify for DOST scholarship

By: Pilar S. Mabaquiao

SAN JOSE, Antique – A total of 28 senior high school students from the province of Antique qualified for the 2019 Science and Technology Undergraduate Scholarship program of the Department of Science and Technology – Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI).

This year’s total number of passers reached an all-time high of 9,852 graduating high school students out of 73,712 applicants nationwide.

Out of the total number of qualifiers, 5,819 qualified under RA 7687, a scholarship for talented students who belong to economically disadvantaged families while 4,033 examinees passed the DOST-SEI Merit Scholarship. (DOST)

Engr. Eleazar Moscoso of DOST Antique advised the students to do well in their studies so they could enjoy the privileges given to them as DOST scholars and importantly finish their studies.

For the province of Antique, the DOST qualifiers under RA 7687 are Jewel Grace Garapan Abiera and Edgar Sicorsicor Malayo of Concepcion Cazenas National School; Luna Rio Vego Del Ayre, Kate Yvonne Memeje Gersava, Ram Jeffer Rafols Orquejo and Reynel Gellagarin Rubino of the University of Antique; Pia Estana Ebosio and Valerie Joy Tagle Naviamos of Belison National School.

Other passers are Ragin Labitoria Gallano, Alice Kimberly Bayog Luces, Lallaine Mae Bayno Obsina, Jannie Belle Puno Rodriguez of St. Anthony’s College; Jhereza Rhean Aldefolio Magarso, Rey Angelo Ynion Bantolo andMegan Grafane Juliano of Antique National School and Kim John Sanches Osunero of Governor Julio V. Macuja Comprehensive High School.

For DOST–SEI Merit Scholarship, the qualifiers are William Harry Mallo Diana, Lee Genesis Sandoy Mabaquiao and Ron Paolo Clarito Sarmiento of Antique National School and Kenneth Laderas Esmeralda of St. Anthony’s College.

Keisha Carmela Conlu Bungay, Izabelle Aguirre Condez, Mika Monique Zabala Grantoza, Eugene Orteza Imbang, Karlus Maria Sedanto Jusa and LJ Jesse Alcazar Macadangdang are also DOST-SEI Merit qualifiers who applied from other schools outside the province, while Leah Joy Amahido Diana and Mcxel Samillano Nunag qualified under RA 7687.

The scholarship privileges include tuition and other school fees of P40,000 per academic year, book allowance of P10,000 per year, uniform allowance of P1000 (for first semester of firs year only), group insurance, transportation allowance (for those studying outside the home province) and monthly living allowance of P7,000 per month. (PIA-Antique)

Leave a Reply